Setchkarev Memorial Prizes Announced

June 5, 2017

The Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures congratulates the winners of this year's prizes awarded by the Setchkarev Memorial Prize Committee for graduate student essay, best doctoral dissertation, and the Sloane Memorial prizes for most promising scholar in the 2016-17 academic year:

Best graduate student essay

Raymond DeLuca, PhD Candidate (G-1)

Essay title: “Diegetic Instability in Deep Space: Mapping the soundscape of Andrei Tarkovsky’s Solaris”


Best doctoral dissertation

Philipp Penka, PhD, November 2016

Dissertation title: “‘I Whisper Into the Radio Ear’: Radio sound and Russian modernist poetics”


Sloane Memorial Prize (shared)

Tatyana Gershkovich, PhD, May 2016

Dissertation Title: “Held Captive: Tolstoy, Nabokov, and the aesthetics of constraint”


Ainsley Morse, PhD, May 2016

Dissertation Title: “Detki v kletke: The childlike aesthetic in Soviet children’s literature and unofficial poetry”


Pictured below: 

The Setchkarev Prize Committee along with Raymond DeLuca, winner of the 2016-17 Setchkarev prize for best graduate student essay.

(Pictured from left to right:) Raymond DeLuca, Margaret Setchkarev, Edythe Haber, Sonia Ketchian, Lynn Visson, Stanley Rabinowitz