News & Events

Setchkarev Memorial Prizes Announced

May 19, 2016

The Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures congratulates the winners of this year's prizes awarded by the Setchkarev Memorial Prize Committee for best graduate and undergraduate papers written in 2015:

Joshua Barthel: Winner of the Setchkarev Memorial Prize for Best Undergraduate Paper, “The Failure of the Two Alexeys: Professional Identity in Anna Karenina

Senior Claire Atwood takes home a Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize

May 5, 2016

Congratulations to Senior Slavic concentrator Claire Atwood on receiving a Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize for writing one of the best undergraduate theses of the 2015-2016 academic year.

The Hoopes Prize recognizes undergraduate students who, under the supervision of a faculty member, undertake exceptional research and produce top quality scholarly work in their field. 

Claire's winning submission is entitled "Transfiguring History: Two Epic Poems About Peter the Great, 1803-1810" and was nominated by Dr. Daria Khitrova. 

Congratulations to our winners of Certificates of Distinction and Excellence, Fall 2015

March 16, 2016

We would like to recognize the achievements of the following members of our department for being awarded Certificates of Distinction and Teaching Excellence from the Bok Center for Fall 2015:

Certificates of Teaching Excellence

Natalia Chirkov

Veronika Egorova

Veronika Tuckerova

Certificates of Distinction in Teaching

Jenya Spallino Mironava 

Maria Vassileva

Sarah Vitali

Stephen Alexander Tullock